Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 12, 2010, 19:03   #1
SaThaRiel
Adept
 
SaThaRiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 174
SaThaRiel is on a distinguished road
Compile problems with current angband git version

Hi,

i waited for some days/weeks now to see if this problem "solves itself" but i'm still getting errors when linking angband. I know that this is a possible problem when trying to build from source but since there hasn't been a change since days now i wonder if someone is aware of it:
Code:
[...]
Successfully compiled z-virt.c.
      LINK angband.o           
In file included from gtk/cairo-utils.h:25:0,
                 from gtk/main-gtk.h:30,
                 from gtk/main-gtk.c:22:
/usr/include/cairo/cairo.h:1976:26: warning: comma at end of enumerator list
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘last_inv_slot’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2198:12: error: ‘inventory’ undeclared (first use in this function)
gtk/main-gtk.c:2198:12: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘inv_slot’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2218:11: error: ‘inventory’ undeclared (first use in this function)
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘handle_inv’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2287:25: error: ‘inventory’ undeclared (first use in this function)
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘handle_equip’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2326:25: error: ‘inventory’ undeclared (first use in this function)
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘cr_print_equippy’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2506:12: error: ‘inventory’ undeclared (first use in this function)
gtk/main-gtk.c: In function ‘handle_sidebar’:
gtk/main-gtk.c:2570:35: error: ‘c_name’ undeclared (first use in this function)
Failed to compile gtk/main-gtk.c!
make[3]: *** [gtk/main-gtk.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [all] Error 1
make[1]: *** [subdirs] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 1
gcc is 4.5.1, not sure what else may be useful.
__________________
Proud candidate for the Angband Darwin Award!
SaThaRiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2010, 21:19   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,110
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Can you confirm that you cloned from github.com/angband/angband.git? Can you tell me what arguments you gave to ./configure, if any?

I will look into this tomorrow - I'm not aware of any compilation issues in the current master branch.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2010, 22:36   #3
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,951
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Can you confirm that you cloned from github.com/angband/angband.git? Can you tell me what arguments you gave to ./configure, if any?

I will look into this tomorrow - I'm not aware of any compilation issues in the current master branch.
looks like it's related to elly's changes of moving the global 'inventory' to be inside the player struct
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2010, 23:09   #4
SaThaRiel
Adept
 
SaThaRiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 174
SaThaRiel is on a distinguished road
I pulled from github.com/angband/angband.git (already existing repository) and also did a git clone (removed repository to start over).
The build is done this way
Code:
  ./autogen.sh
  ./configure \
    --prefix=/usr \
    --bindir=/usr/bin/ \
    --sysconfdir=/usr/share/angband \
    --with-configpath=/usr/share/angband \
    --with-libpath=/usr/share/angband \
    --enable-gtk \
    --enable-sdl \
	--enable-sdl-mixer || return 1
  make clean
  make
Same way as it worked for the svn version and like the "official" angband binary version in Archlinux is built.

Still have a working dev version installed, so no hurry Just wanted to make sure that you guys are aware of it since the autobuilder doesn't seem to work atm.
__________________
Proud candidate for the Angband Darwin Award!
SaThaRiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2010, 14:58   #5
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,110
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaThaRiel View Post
I pulled from github.com/angband/angband.git (already existing repository) and also did a git clone (removed repository to start over).
The build is done this way
Code:
  ./autogen.sh
  ./configure \
    --prefix=/usr \
    --bindir=/usr/bin/ \
    --sysconfdir=/usr/share/angband \
    --with-configpath=/usr/share/angband \
    --with-libpath=/usr/share/angband \
    --enable-gtk \
    --enable-sdl \
	--enable-sdl-mixer || return 1
  make clean
  make
Same way as it worked for the svn version and like the "official" angband binary version in Archlinux is built.

Still have a working dev version installed, so no hurry Just wanted to make sure that you guys are aware of it since the autobuilder doesn't seem to work atm.
Ok, I can confirm that I get the same error as you when compiling main-gtk.c in the current master branch. Apologies - we should have caught this before committing it to master. Will try to fix ASAP.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2010, 17:55   #6
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,110
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Ok, this is fixed in staging, but cannot be committed to master until some other bugs have been fixed in staging. Pls bear with us.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2010, 19:38   #7
SaThaRiel
Adept
 
SaThaRiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 174
SaThaRiel is on a distinguished road
Better take your time fixing bugs instead of hurry and built in some more
__________________
Proud candidate for the Angband Darwin Award!
SaThaRiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14, 2010, 00:11   #8
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,110
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaThaRiel View Post
Better take your time fixing bugs instead of hurry and built in some more
Right, it's finally fixed. Took about four hours longer than I was expecting, but got there in the end. We should get a working version autobuilt tonight. Pls report any bugs ASAP because we're moving towards a release now.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14, 2010, 13:05   #9
SaThaRiel
Adept
 
SaThaRiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 174
SaThaRiel is on a distinguished road
The compile looks good, only one warning anymore
Code:
generate.c: In function ‘cave_gen’:
generate.c:2898:10: warning: ‘bx’ may be used uninitialized in this function
Successfully compiled generate.c.
Not sure, but if you sell and buy items, the last message is repeated when you leave the shop or press some key. Don't know how to describe it better, but its a bit anoying. But maybe its the wanted behaviour or a new option? Or its just a bug
__________________
Proud candidate for the Angband Darwin Award!
SaThaRiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14, 2010, 14:49   #10
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,110
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaThaRiel View Post
The compile looks good, only one warning anymore
Code:
generate.c: In function ‘cave_gen’:
generate.c:2898:10: warning: ‘bx’ may be used uninitialized in this function
Successfully compiled generate.c.
Not sure, but if you sell and buy items, the last message is repeated when you leave the shop or press some key. Don't know how to describe it better, but its a bit anoying. But maybe its the wanted behaviour or a new option? Or its just a bug
The latter is a known bug of the recent store UI changes, which I've just recorded on trac as #1203.

The compiler warning is odd because I don't get it at all. What version of gcc are you using? Did you get any unusual output when you ran ./autogen.sh or ./configure? What arguments did you give ./configure? I will see if I can reproduce it by duplicating your build invocations.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The latest working version from the master git repository myshkin Development 1 October 10, 2010 22:27
Bug in current vanilla, Git? Trac? Timo Pietilä Development 4 October 10, 2010 21:12
Most current version? ZenDragon Vanilla 8 January 20, 2010 12:34
Compile z+angband on linux garu Variants 2 November 5, 2009 16:20
ID-by-use in current dev version takkaria Vanilla 8 April 13, 2009 10:16


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.